Diskferry

TransMac alternative: Diskferry vs TransMac

TransMac from Acute Systems is closest to Diskferry in how it works: neither installs a driver, and both show the Mac drive in their own window rather than in File Explorer. They differ in price, in writing, and in what they promise about your copies. TransMac facts are from acutesystems.com, its price page, help and readme, checked 30 October 2026.

DiskferryTransMac
PriceFree to find, browse and preview; copying US$14.99 once"US$59.00" single user; $39.00 each for 2 to 5; "License keys change every major version number"
TrialBrowsing is free, no time limit"will run for 15 days from installation"
APFSYes, read only, including password-encrypted volumesRead only: "Currently TransMac does not support writing APFS volumes"
HFS+Yes, read only, including case-sensitiveRead and write: "Copy files to Mac HFS+ disks and dmg images"; "Format as HFS+ for Mac"
Disk images.img, .cdr, uncompressed .dmg"dmg, dmgpart, sparsebundle and sparseimage"; "Encrypted disk image support (full version only)"; create and burn DMG files
Encrypted APFS volumesYes, with the passwordNot stated (only encrypted disk images)
Copy verificationYes, every copy compared by SHA-256, with a reportNot stated
WindowsWindows 10 (2004 or later) and 11, x64"Any version of Windows 11, 10, 8, 7 or Vista"; may ask to restart "as administrator"

Choose TransMac if

  • You need to write to HFS+ drives, format drives as HFS+, or create, compress and burn .dmg files on Windows.
  • You work with compressed .dmg, sparsebundle or sparseimage files, which Diskferry does not open.

Choose Diskferry if

  • You only want to read: Diskferry cannot change the drive, by design.
  • You have an encrypted APFS drive and its password.
  • You want each copied file checked against the original, with a report of anything that failed.
  • You want to look as long as you need before paying, and pay US$14.99 once rather than $59.00.

Facts about other products were checked on 30 October 2026 on the pages linked above. Products change; check their current pages before buying. Names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to compare.

Questions

What happens when the TransMac trial ends?

Its readme says: "After 15 days TransMac will not run until a license key is entered." (checked 30 October 2026). Diskferry's browsing and preview stay free with no time limit.

Can TransMac write to APFS?

No. Its help lists the error "Currently TransMac does not support writing APFS volumes." Neither can Diskferry, which never writes to any drive.

Last updated 30 October 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell support.

Other comparisons